My Last Happy Day (In Response To The Daily Post Prompt)

2014-08-04 17.02.25

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Re-springing Your Step.”

Due to my blogging 101 course, I had to write a post inspired by the Daily Post’s writing prompt. I guess I’m very determined to follow through every assignment, because the prompt today made  me think and write about things I didn’t want to. Then I thought…Whatever. Let’s do it. And today the  prompt read:

Re-springing Your Step

Tell us about the last experience you had that left you feeling fresh, energized, and rejuvenated. What was it that had such a positive effect on you?Well. Well. Well. It actually kind of hurts remembering. It hurts because even though it wasn’t a long time ago, it seems to me now, like it was a life ago. It hurts because I clearly remember that day, that moment. When I think about those three words, fresh, energized and rejuvenated, what come in my mind is, being alive. And that day, I was alive. I was happy. Now I just feel like I’m gonna break down in a while. That’s why it hurts a bit. It was just last August, but I said a life ago because then I was living a completely different kind of life. A life where I still had a girlfriend.
Not that she left me and I’m heartbroken. We just split up like it was meant to be. Still, since then, something isn’t right with me. I guess I’m getting old. I used to enjoy more my loneliness. Anyway the first moment that came in my mind when I first saw the daily prompt question, was the precise moment I hit the San Diego Freeway, exiting LAX, meaning Los Angeles Airport, the 4th of last August. I just landed in L.A. to start a 25 days vacation all along California and Arizona. It wasn’t my first time in the U.S. but I hadn’t been in the West Coast before, and it was my first time ever renting a car. A red Dodge Avenger. I was alone that moment because my ex had arrived the day before. I always feel happy when I’m abroad. I feel a peace that I hardly ever reach when I’m home with my ordinary life. And that day, as soon as I entered the freeway, driving north with the California sun up in the sky, I got this feeling like when everything is alright and you are somewhere you belong. A happiness that right now seems out of my reach. That was the last time I felt happy.
And it could have been even my last time ever, because the energy I was sensing hit me so much that I forgot I wasn’t in my car. While approaching the freeway exit I thought it would be a good idea to shift down the gearshift. Which it would, if I were in my car that doesn’t have an automatic drive. Otherwise? Don’t ever do that. I’ve been pretty close to cause a car accident because my car slowed dramatically down and the one behind me almost bumped me. Fortunately that didn’t happen but I gained my first american car horn concert. Then I just recompose myself, focused on the street again, and enjoyed the ride. What the hell, I was in California after all. I was happy.That was the last time I felt alive. Hopefully I’m gonna have another one. Anyway, I’m going back to the U.S. At least I get to travel.
John Reese
About Gianluca8675

I'm an Atypical Italian Traveler, born and raised in Rome. View all posts by Gianluca8675

7 responses to “My Last Happy Day (In Response To The Daily Post Prompt)

Leave a Reply

DiarioRandagio

L'unica regola del viaggio è: non tornare come sei partito. Torna diverso.

Wanderlust dipendente

Travel blogger

labloggeria

by Elenalucia

viviana vialetto

travel . learn . share

conlavaligiapronta

Live, travel, adventure, bless, and don't be sorry. -Jack Kerouak

Viaggiando con Bea

E' bello raccontarvi dei miei viaggi e dei miei esperimenti tra i fornelli

RomExperience Travel Blog

Blog di viaggi con partenza Roma e destinazione Mondo

Sotto il cielo delle Ande

Un viaggio in Sudamerica con un romanzo nello zaino

I'll B right back

Prima o poi torno...ma intanto vado!!

Guardando il cielo

La vita è troppo breve per sprecarla a realizzare i sogni degli altri. (Oscar Wilde)

Pochi spicci e una cartina

Due universitari e un "mondo" da imparare

Mi viaggio

Dobbiamo andare e non fermarci mai finché non arriviamo. Per andare dove amico? Non lo so, ma dobbiamo andare. - J. kerouac -

SpiritoLiberoViaggi

Viaggiare per "sopravvivere"

LG Studio - Foto di Viaggio e per passione.

Racconti fotografici di viaggio. Esperienze, impressioni, itinerari e consigli per sognare un po'.

cucublog

curiosità & cultura

Interviste dal Mondo

“Quando ero giovane, mi esercitavo sempre mezz’ora al giorno. A volte riuscivo a credere anche a sei cose impossibili prima di colazione” - Lewis Carroll

