My Last Happy Day (In Response To The Daily Post Prompt)

2014-08-04 17.02.25

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Re-springing Your Step.”

Due to my blogging 101 course, I had to write a post inspired by the Daily Post’s writing prompt. I guess I’m very determined to follow through every assignment, because the prompt today made  me think and write about things I didn’t want to. Then I thought…Whatever. Let’s do it. And today the  prompt read:

Re-springing Your Step

Tell us about the last experience you had that left you feeling fresh, energized, and rejuvenated. What was it that had such a positive effect on you?Well. Well. Well. It actually kind of hurts remembering. It hurts because even though it wasn’t a long time ago, it seems to me now, like it was a life ago. It hurts because I clearly remember that day, that moment. When I think about those three words, fresh, energized and rejuvenated, what come in my mind is, being alive. And that day, I was alive. I was happy. Now I just feel like I’m gonna break down in a while. That’s why it hurts a bit. It was just last August, but I said a life ago because then I was living a completely different kind of life. A life where I still had a girlfriend.
Not that she left me and I’m heartbroken. We just split up like it was meant to be. Still, since then, something isn’t right with me. I guess I’m getting old. I used to enjoy more my loneliness. Anyway the first moment that came in my mind when I first saw the daily prompt question, was the precise moment I hit the San Diego Freeway, exiting LAX, meaning Los Angeles Airport, the 4th of last August. I just landed in L.A. to start a 25 days vacation all along California and Arizona. It wasn’t my first time in the U.S. but I hadn’t been in the West Coast before, and it was my first time ever renting a car. A red Dodge Avenger. I was alone that moment because my ex had arrived the day before. I always feel happy when I’m abroad. I feel a peace that I hardly ever reach when I’m home with my ordinary life. And that day, as soon as I entered the freeway, driving north with the California sun up in the sky, I got this feeling like when everything is alright and you are somewhere you belong. A happiness that right now seems out of my reach. That was the last time I felt happy.
And it could have been even my last time ever, because the energy I was sensing hit me so much that I forgot I wasn’t in my car. While approaching the freeway exit I thought it would be a good idea to shift down the gearshift. Which it would, if I were in my car that doesn’t have an automatic drive. Otherwise? Don’t ever do that. I’ve been pretty close to cause a car accident because my car slowed dramatically down and the one behind me almost bumped me. Fortunately that didn’t happen but I gained my first american car horn concert. Then I just recompose myself, focused on the street again, and enjoyed the ride. What the hell, I was in California after all. I was happy.That was the last time I felt alive. Hopefully I’m gonna have another one. Anyway, I’m going back to the U.S. At least I get to travel.
John Reese

7 thoughts on “My Last Happy Day (In Response To The Daily Post Prompt)

  1. Sven Erik Johnsen 19 January 2015 / 20:05

    I´ll leave a comment and congratulate you with doing all the assignments in time. Myself I am one week behind and am now doing the assignment with making comments on the blogs. That is the main reason of my comment.
    I feel with you though, and I can relate with you. Breaking up can leave you in a mess and yes travelling is always good. I hope you had some chance to enjoy the rest of that holiday … greets

    Liked by 1 person

    • gianluca8675 19 January 2015 / 20:13

      Thank you Sven:) Don’t worry about the assignment, it’s not a race. The important thing is finish the course, when it doesn’t matter:) Indeed I am kind of a mess right now ah ah but the course is distracting me. Yes, the rest of the vacation was actually great, even though now I’m not in the mood to see all the pictures I took ah ah

      Liked by 2 people

  2. lilypup 20 January 2015 / 17:20

    Came over from Blogging 101 to check out your blog. Really like the interesting layout of your page. It keeps the eye moving around and lighting on one thing or another of interest. Great job and writing! http://lilypupslife.wordpress.com/

    Liked by 1 person

    • gianluca8675 20 January 2015 / 17:22

      That’s so nice of you! Thank you! I’m working hard on my blog, but I didn’t think it was a great job, so I’m very glad to hear that from you! It keeps me motivated! 🙂

      Like

  3. theeleventhletterblog 20 January 2015 / 19:47

    Your blog looks amazing and I’m reading some of your posts now, and they are really good. I like your writing style, most importantly I appreciate your honesty. You have some really good stuff up here.

    Liked by 1 person

    • gianluca8675 20 January 2015 / 19:50

      Oh God! You’re too kind! I don’t know how to thank you! I’m glad you like it…like I told you, maybe honesty is the best way to connect with people. Thanks again!!!:)

      Like

Leave a comment