City Bike Deal – How To Best Live Your City

2015-07-09 16.57.20

The first thing I wanna say is, I hate pedaling. And I hate bikers. I guess it’s because I’m a city guy and I don’t particularly like the country. Plus, I got a bunch of colleagues whose fondness of bicycles and the rides they take and speak of all the time, makes me sick. That’s why it’s so surprising I got a bike now. Even more, that I love it.

2015-06-20 09.07.55

I don’t wanna bother you with the story of how I fell in love with my Brompton. Let’s just say I decided I wanted a city bike, and I ended up getting the Queen of the folding bikes. The point here is, I was craving for the pleasure you can get while riding a bike across a beautiful city. And that’s a thing I was well aware of.

2015-06-18 12.29.21

When I visit a big city, I don’t mind walking. Actually I’m a great walker. I even went to an airport on foot once. True story, I wrote a post about that. I think it’s the best way to enjoy and live a city. Walking from a neighborhood to another is better than taking the subway, because you get to see a lot more of the city, so you can get a better idea of its style, shape and distances.

But walking takes a lot of time and that’s why sometimes I like to rent a city bike. The perspective is pretty much the same, but you can cover much more in less time. Besides, you can get some nice shots out of it, right?

DSCN4988

Berlin-East Side Gallery

IMG_4974

New York-Brooklyn Bridge

DSCN5130

Amsterdam-The Canals

2015-05-31 16.55.51

Copenaghen-Nyhavn

I thought about getting a city bike before, but it wasn’t until I visited Copenhagen, last May, that I started thinking seriously about buying it. That’s a city where you really can’t help but wonder if you’re getting it right where you are from. Guys you just can’t believe how many bicycles I saw in that city. You can get an idea checking this video I shot a Monday morning while I was waiting the traffic light to get green. At first I thought, is this a race or something?

And obviously I enjoyed riding in the streets of Copenhagen myself. Then I thought, if it’s nice here, wouldn’t it be nicer in one of the most beautiful cities of the world? I mean, mine? Rome?

2015-06-27 15.37.22

So I did it. I bought a brand new Brompton, and now it’s kind of my best friend. And it’s incredible because even if I know my city pretty well, since I got my bike I got to see places I hadn’t seen before. It’s the best city bike ever, plus being a folding bike, I can bring it with me wherever I want. No need to park it outside. I just fold it and enter every shop I choose to.

2015-09-02 17.38.11

The picture above shows my bike the day I went to the Nike Store to buy my new pair of sneakers. The store is in the little mall inside Termini Station and it was fun enter the station riding my bike, dodging people on my way. Hadn’t the security guy told me gently not to ride inside the station, I would have entered the Nike Store directly on my bike. Ok now I’m exaggerating a bit.

But the best part, is when I decide to take a tour and to write a post about it. I did it more than a couple of times already, and the result is a series of articles about different aspects of Rome.

2015-07-05 15.59.51

2015-06-27 17.43.53

I’m enjoying this so much. Unfortunately we’re going toward the winter season, so I guess I won’t be able to take many other tours, but I’ll try for sure. In the meantime, this below is the list about the post I wrote, which I couldn’t have written, hadn’t I gotten my Brompton. If you’re curious, take a look. Even better, get a city bike and take your own tour. I’m telling you, it’s really worth it.

Street Art In Rome – Quadraro Edition
Rome Panoramic Views (Zodiaco vs Gianicolo)
Rome Obelisks Tour

John Reese

About Gianluca8675

I'm an Atypical Italian Traveler, born and raised in Rome. View all posts by Gianluca8675

11 responses to “City Bike Deal – How To Best Live Your City

Leave a Reply

DiarioRandagio

L'unica regola del viaggio è: non tornare come sei partito. Torna diverso.

Wanderlust dipendente

Travel blogger

labloggeria

by Elenalucia

viviana vialetto

travel . learn . share

conlavaligiapronta

Live, travel, adventure, bless, and don't be sorry. -Jack Kerouak

Viaggiando con Bea

E' bello raccontarvi dei miei viaggi e dei miei esperimenti tra i fornelli

RomExperience Travel Blog

Blog di viaggi con partenza Roma e destinazione Mondo

Sotto il cielo delle Ande

Un viaggio in Sudamerica con un romanzo nello zaino

I'll B right back

Prima o poi torno...ma intanto vado!!

Guardando il cielo

La vita è troppo breve per sprecarla a realizzare i sogni degli altri. (Oscar Wilde)

Pochi spicci e una cartina

Due universitari e un "mondo" da imparare

Mi viaggio

Dobbiamo andare e non fermarci mai finché non arriviamo. Per andare dove amico? Non lo so, ma dobbiamo andare. - J. kerouac -

LG Studio - Foto di Viaggio e per passione.

Racconti fotografici di viaggio. Esperienze, impressioni, itinerari e consigli per sognare un po'.

cucublog

curiosità & cultura

Interviste dal Mondo

“Quando ero giovane, mi esercitavo sempre mezz’ora al giorno. A volte riuscivo a credere anche a sei cose impossibili prima di colazione” - Lewis Carroll

