Street Art In Rome – Quadraro Edition

2015-09-06 17.50.49

I admit I’m not an expert when it comes to street art. Nor good judge. I don’t have the expertise to tell if a painting on a wall of a run down building is well done, excellent or simply a sketch by a not talented wannabe street artist. I’ll just say one simple thing. I like it.

I mean, I find it so pleasant walking on streets surrounded by buildings whose walls are adorned by colourful paintings. Specially ’cause usually the parts of the city where it’s easier to find these glimpses of street art, are the outskirts. I just think it enriches the view and the pleasure of walking among such abandoned zones.

And it was with this in mind that I took this little trip among the streets of one of the neighborhoods of Rome that lately is developing a true love for street art, the Quadraro. I actually read an article that said Rome in general is getting more and more one of the best cities in Europe where a street artist can express its art. We got a lot of projects in progress. Hopefully I’m gonna tell you more about it in a while.

In the meantime, like I said, Ill take you to the Quadraro. It used to be one of the poorest neighborhoods of Rome until more or less thirty years ago, when it still was basically in the outskirts of the city. It can’t be considered city center now, but since the city has grown impressively these last years, it’s well integrated in the city.

But this doesn’t mean it doesn’t show the outfit of a classic popular neighborhood. In fact, it’s true that it runs all along one of the major roads of the city, via Tuscolana, always busy and full of modern shops and all that. But as soon as you turn in one of the little streets that enter the Quadraro, you find a quieter atmosphere, less cars, little shops that sell food like you can’t find anymore in the big cities nowadays and people who hang out in little parks or seated outside the bars playing cards, like the more classic stereotype of the oldest Italian villages. Truly nice.

And now, among all of that, some street art too.

Since I got my Brompton a few months ago (best city bike ever, I’m going to write an article just about that!), I’m getting pleasantly used to take little tours around Rome. I already posted a couple of articles about those tours. If you’re interested, there’s the one where I show you all the 13 ancient obelisks of Rome, or the one where I take you to the best 2 panoramic point of view over the city. I love these tours on my bike because they make me see, appreciate and live the city from a different perspective. Besides, I get to go to places I couldn’t go with my car because I’m not allowed to.

So this post is about my last tour. And these are the pictures I took. Promising to keep on updating you with my little trips around the Eternal City, I’ll leave you at them.

2015-09-06 18.09.20 2015-09-06 18.01.48 2015-09-06 18.07.42 2015-09-06 17.53.20 2015-09-06 17.51.32 2015-09-06 18.01.53 2015-09-06 17.45.16 2015-09-06 17.40.28 2015-09-06 17.50.00 2015-09-06 17.35.09 2015-09-06 17.32.52 2015-09-06 17.43.58 2015-09-06 17.39.57

John Reese

About Gianluca8675

I'm an Atypical Italian Traveler, born and raised in Rome. View all posts by Gianluca8675

6 responses to “Street Art In Rome – Quadraro Edition

Leave a Reply

DiarioRandagio

L'unica regola del viaggio è: non tornare come sei partito. Torna diverso.

Wanderlust dipendente

Travel blogger

labloggeria

by Elenalucia

viviana vialetto

travel . learn . share

conlavaligiapronta

Live, travel, adventure, bless, and don't be sorry. -Jack Kerouak

Viaggiando con Bea

E' bello raccontarvi dei miei viaggi e dei miei esperimenti tra i fornelli

RomExperience Travel Blog

Blog di viaggi con partenza Roma e destinazione Mondo

Sotto il cielo delle Ande

Un viaggio in Sudamerica con un romanzo nello zaino

I'll B right back

Prima o poi torno...ma intanto vado!!

Guardando il cielo

La vita è troppo breve per sprecarla a realizzare i sogni degli altri. (Oscar Wilde)

Pochi spicci e una cartina

Due universitari e un "mondo" da imparare

Mi viaggio

Dobbiamo andare e non fermarci mai finché non arriviamo. Per andare dove amico? Non lo so, ma dobbiamo andare. - J. kerouac -

LG Studio - Foto di Viaggio e per passione.

Racconti fotografici di viaggio. Esperienze, impressioni, itinerari e consigli per sognare un po'.

cucublog

curiosità & cultura

Interviste dal Mondo

“Quando ero giovane, mi esercitavo sempre mezz’ora al giorno. A volte riuscivo a credere anche a sei cose impossibili prima di colazione” - Lewis Carroll

