Louisiana Swamp Hit And Run (Video Edition)

2015-08-17 10.14.05

During my last road trip across the South of the US, I didn’t get too many chances to see National Parks and other natural wonders. Not that there isn’t any, but this part of the US isn’t particularly picturesque because the landscapes are pretty flat, and the parks aren’t so numerous and beautiful like the ones you can find, say in the West of the US. That’s why, like I said in my latest post, I’m planning to spend my next trip around Utah, Colorado and Wyoming.

Nonetheless, I had an, let’s say interesting, visit to one of the parks in Louisiana, where if you get lucky, you  might have the chance to see some wildlife.

See, when I went to NOLA, one of the things I was expecting to see, was a real swamp, like the ones I saw so many times in the movies set in Louisiana. The most recent example I had in mind was the first series of True Detective.

And I haven’t been disappointed. I got the first glimpses of the Louisiana swamps, as soon as I crossed the border with Texas, during my longest movement of the whole trip, when I drove from Houston to New Orleans. Miles and miles of freeway running in the middle of a huge swamp. I didn’t even think something like that was possible. I know of freeways that cross mountains, valleys and seas. I just never imagined a freeway crossing a swamp.

Gotta say it was the most particular landscape I found on that trip. Of course, I decided one of my days in NOLA would be dedicated to visit a swamp. There are plenty of them in Louisiana, but I chose the one closest to the city, which is in the Jean Lafitte National Park.

2015-08-17 09.45.38

So, despite staying at a party hostel during my NOLA days, I didn’t stay out late drinking like hell, as everyone else in that hostel. To me, looked like getting drunk was taken more like a mission, among my fellows travelers. A mission they were pretty determined to accomplish. But not me. That’s why I was able to depart for my visit to the Park rather early in the morning. After a fifteen minutes ride, I got to the Park at 8.45 am.

Well, turned out I was the only one in the Park. I mean, literally. There weren’t even the employees of the Park Tourist Center because it was a Sunday and the office was closed. But the Park is always open and you can take a nice walk on a wooden deck that runs for several yards in the middle of this beautiful swamp, admiring the strange vegetation and trying to spot some wild animal in its own natural environment.

2015-08-17 09.44.47

I’m not ashamed of telling you it was even a bit scary. Maybe you can’t get the feeling by the pictures, but I was wandering alone in the middle of a wild place, pretty much miles away from the civilization, noises I couldn’t place all around, and a way ahead of me I wanted to go, not even knowing where the hell it would have gotten me to. I kind of liked that though.

2015-08-17 10.37.18

And here’s something funny. All of a sudden, I bumped into a huge cobweb where a huge spider was resting right in its center. Well, it really scared the crap out of me. I didn’t see it at all. But as soon as I realized what had happened, I saw its owner. I checked later on the Internet and, as I thought, those kind of spiders aren’t poisonous. Regardless, it was a face to face I would have avoided gladly.

2015-08-17 10.15.20

But it gets better.

I recovered pretty quick, and thought I had just experienced something funny. So I took my camera and made a video testimony for my friends on FB, telling my little adventure. Well, what happened while I was filming, was even funnier. I’m gonna post that video below, so you can watch the result. I thought it could have been interesting and funny posting a video for the first time on my blog, and who knows, maybe in the future I might post something else.

That being said, I’ll leave you at it with just one alert. You might be hearing a couple of swear words here and there. But it was justifiable, wasn’t it?!

JohnReese

About Gianluca8675

I'm an Atypical Italian Traveler, born and raised in Rome. View all posts by Gianluca8675

4 responses to “Louisiana Swamp Hit And Run (Video Edition)

  • Dee Gilbert

    It’s hard to win against cobwebs!! LOL!!! 😂😂

    Liked by 1 person

  • LifestyleswithLia

    OMG! I’m sorry to say that I laugh during your video! Does that sound so cruel? I agreed that the profanity you used was absolutely necessary under the circumstances. I would have said much worse if I fell into two cobwebs with giant spiders inside them. Complimenti for being able to find your way out of that swamp! I would have been a dead duck as they say. Louisiana is an absolutely beautiful state and I’m glad you visited. But the swamp being all alone there, with the spiders, is a trip I would be afraid to take! Bravissimo on your exploring!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Gianluca8675

      Ah ah ah don’t worry Lia, that was all this video was about! I’m glad you got a good laugh out of it! :)) I’m sure you would have said more profanities, but that was due to my short vocabulary! Ah ah! Perhaps I made the story sound worse than it actually was, nonetheless it was a bit scary 🙂 I’d do it again though! Like you said, Louisiana is a beautiful state! Thank you for your comment my friend!!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

DiarioRandagio

L'unica regola del viaggio è: non tornare come sei partito. Torna diverso.

Wanderlust dipendente

Travel blogger

labloggeria

by Elenalucia

viviana vialetto

travel . learn . share

conlavaligiapronta

Live, travel, adventure, bless, and don't be sorry. -Jack Kerouak

Viaggiando con Bea

E' bello raccontarvi dei miei viaggi e dei miei esperimenti tra i fornelli

RomExperience Travel Blog

Blog di viaggi con partenza Roma e destinazione Mondo

Sotto il cielo delle Ande

Un viaggio in Sudamerica con un romanzo nello zaino

I'll B right back

Prima o poi torno...ma intanto vado!!

Guardando il cielo

La vita è troppo breve per sprecarla a realizzare i sogni degli altri. (Oscar Wilde)

Pochi spicci e una cartina

Due universitari e un "mondo" da imparare

Mi viaggio

Dobbiamo andare e non fermarci mai finché non arriviamo. Per andare dove amico? Non lo so, ma dobbiamo andare. - J. kerouac -

SpiritoLiberoViaggi

Viaggiare per "sopravvivere"

LG Studio - Foto di Viaggio e per passione.

Racconti fotografici di viaggio. Esperienze, impressioni, itinerari e consigli per sognare un po'.

cucublog

curiosità & cultura

Interviste dal Mondo

“Quando ero giovane, mi esercitavo sempre mezz’ora al giorno. A volte riuscivo a credere anche a sei cose impossibili prima di colazione” - Lewis Carroll

