How To Survive The End Of A Trip (Plan Another One)

2015-08-12 08.47.58

So, like I said in my last post, vacations are over. And I don’t know about you guys, but me, the first thought I have when my life restart following the ordinary routine, is “all right, let’s think about where to go next”.

Although I’m lucky cause I have already a trip booked for these Christmas Holidays. I’m going to New York City. My aunt is living in a little city 80 miles from NY and she invited all our family to spend Christmas with hers. Could we say no?! No way! So this is going to be my third time in NY, the first one in winter, and my first time ever traveling with my mother and my sister. I can’t wait.

That aside, I guess I suffer from some extremely strong travel addiction because pretty much any moment I have with nothing to do, I can’t help but keep on thinking about my next travel plans.

And here’s the thing. I thought I was done with the US. I clearly am not. I thought next year would be the one where I would’ve changed direction toward the Orient. I had already read something about it, and planned a pretty vague itinerary across China. But the truth is, I still wanna see a million things in the US. I’m not satisfied yet. What can I say. I simply like them all.

For those of you who don’t already know, I spent almost the entire month of August on a road trip around the southern US. Last year I had the same experience around California and Arizona. I have to say road trips suit me perfectly, and even if I know there’s plenty of places on this planet where to have wonderful road trips, I just can’t think of a better place than the US.

I still have to post something more about my last trip, but in the meanwhile I can tell you it was awesome. Great experience and a lot of things to tell. Nonetheless, it left me with a thirst for another one in more spectacular places on a landscape level.

I’m not complaining here about the southern States, it was really an amazing trip, it’s just that along the road I didn’t experience that sensation of wonder I felt on the roads of California and Arizona. The landscapes along the roads of Texas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Tennessee and Georgia are pretty flat, then the driving along those roads didn’t leave me as stunned as I was last year driving in the middle of the desert in Arizona, or across the Santa Monica Mountains, rather than along the Pacific Coast Highway or in The Monument Valley.

And that’s what I want to experience again. So I made up my mind and I got already what it seems to me a pretty good plan.

The work is still in progress, but more or less here’s what I wanna do. Starting from Denver, I’d like to see as much as I can of Colorado and Utah and the Rocky Mountains, heading west to Salt Lake City. Then I’m going north where I’m planning to spend at least four days in the Yellowstone National Park. From there my idea is going to Portland and then Seattle. Once there, depending on how many days this plan is going to take, if possible I’d like to go back to L.A. that literally blew my mind last year.

We’ll see. I’ll certainly let you know once I got all that figured out. Obviously I’ll appreciate every advice you guys have, since I know some of you are that lucky to have already experienced those places, or even to live there.

All of this, just to let you know how I survive my going back work.

John Reese

About Gianluca8675

I'm an Atypical Italian Traveler, born and raised in Rome. View all posts by Gianluca8675

21 responses to “How To Survive The End Of A Trip (Plan Another One)

  • Bulldog Travels

    I love Utah! What will you see while you are there. Southern Utah is very different than northern Utah.

    http://bulldogtravels.com/category/utah/

    Liked by 1 person

  • Levysoro

    Keep on travelling, John, and give my regards to The Big Apple.
    I miss “her”…

    Liked by 1 person

  • lisecharmel

    There are places “calling” us more than others. Actually I’d go anywhere, because I have seen so little. But for the last vacations I was deciding between Thailand and Kenya, so when we finally chose Thailand I thought: “We’ll go to Africa next year”. When we returned from Thailand I went to buy a guide for Cambodia 😀
    Did you ever visit Oregon? I saw a reportage on a magazine in July and now I want to go there as well!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Gianluca8675

      ah ah Yeah, I know the feeling!;) I’ve never made it to Oregon, but if everything goes well I’ll be going to Portland next trip. I don’t think I’m gonna have enough time to visit Oregon very well though, because I’ll spend the major part of the trip in other States.

      Like

  • alexsaoirse

    I fully understand your feeling! The more I travel, the more places I want to go next. I’ve been in New Zealand 8 months now, and even if I’ve travelled around quite a lot (and I’ve seen more places than lots of new zealanders), I keep find places where I’d like to go. Five more months to go.. But I’m sure I’ll go back to Europe with the feeling that I have to come back to explore everything else 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Gianluca8675

      Ah ah exactly! You know the feeling! Although we’re already lucky to have seen so many places, we still want more! Is there any other addiction more fulfilling? I don’t think so! I’m sure you’re going to be back with a great experience in your baggage 🙂

      Like

      • alexsaoirse

        Yeah, you’re right: have to remember once in a while how lucky I am! I think nothing is more fulfilling and enriching than travelling. Even staying at the base, with all the different cultures I’ve been living with. It’s going to be boring, once back home. At first at least!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Gianluca8675

        Well, I guess you’re right. At least that’s what happens with me. I’m always a little bored when I’m living my ordinary life at home 🙂 fortunately I’m lucky to be living in Rome. I can always go around the city and get a bit of traveling feeling! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • alexsaoirse

        Not bad. I’ve been only once for a few days, to Rome. Anyway, let’s see when I’m back home what happens. But for sure I don’t want to get back to how I was before leaving. I don’t want to be caught again in the life I had before. I’m actually living a quite ordinary life also here, but I’m abroad and I travel more often than usual so it’s different. Not that ordinary as back home.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Gianluca8675

        Oh don’t worry… Once you get in that state of mind it’s irreversible 😉

        Like

      • alexsaoirse

        Hopefully, you’re right 😉 But it’s always so easy to get back to old habits.

        Liked by 1 person

  • LifestyleswithLia

    Caro amico! Ti chiedo mille volte scusa per non aver lasciato commenti sul tuo blog da tanto tempo! Sono contenta che il tuo viaggio in USA sia andato benissimo e sicuramente non vedi l’ora di tornare quest’inverno. Se passi da Manhattan, fammi sapere e magari potremmo prenderci un caffe’!
    Un caro saluto dalla Grande Mela,
    *Lia

    Liked by 1 person

    • Gianluca8675

      Ciao Lia!! Non mi devi chiedere scusa assolutamente!! Anche io ho dedicato pochissimo tempo a leggere altri Blog questa estate! L’importante è che sei stata bene :)) Sarò a Manhattan dal 27 dicembre al 4 gennaio, e se ci sarai sarà un grandissimo piacere prendere un caffè con te! :)) in the meanwhile, take care my friend! E tanti saluti da Roma! ;)))

      Liked by 1 person

      • LifestyleswithLia

        Grazie infinite di aver capito! Sei gentilissimo!
        I hope it can work out to grab a cup of coffee when you are here. I might be planning a trip for Christmas but it still isn’t sure but let’s see! But hopefully we can meet up…although the coffee here tastes nothing like that in Italy!
        Salutoni!
        *Lia

        Liked by 1 person

      • Gianluca8675

        Ah ah I know exactly how it tastes, when I’m in your country I drink a lot of American coffee, so I don’t mind a hot cup! Ok then, we’ll see:)) hopefully we’re going to make it, otherwise good for you if you get the chance to have that trip! 🙂 Ci sentiamo!! Ciao!!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

DiarioRandagio

L'unica regola del viaggio è: non tornare come sei partito. Torna diverso.

Wanderlust dipendente

Travel blogger

labloggeria

by Elenalucia

viviana vialetto

travel . learn . share

conlavaligiapronta

Live, travel, adventure, bless, and don't be sorry. -Jack Kerouak

Viaggiando con Bea

E' bello raccontarvi dei miei viaggi e dei miei esperimenti tra i fornelli

RomExperience Travel Blog

Blog di viaggi con partenza Roma e destinazione Mondo

Sotto il cielo delle Ande

Un viaggio in Sudamerica con un romanzo nello zaino

I'll B right back

Prima o poi torno...ma intanto vado!!

Guardando il cielo

La vita è troppo breve per sprecarla a realizzare i sogni degli altri. (Oscar Wilde)

Pochi spicci e una cartina

Due universitari e un "mondo" da imparare

Mi viaggio

Dobbiamo andare e non fermarci mai finché non arriviamo. Per andare dove amico? Non lo so, ma dobbiamo andare. - J. kerouac -

SpiritoLiberoViaggi

Viaggiare per "sopravvivere"

LG Studio - Foto di Viaggio e per passione.

Racconti fotografici di viaggio. Esperienze, impressioni, itinerari e consigli per sognare un po'.

cucublog

curiosità & cultura

Interviste dal Mondo

“Quando ero giovane, mi esercitavo sempre mezz’ora al giorno. A volte riuscivo a credere anche a sei cose impossibili prima di colazione” - Lewis Carroll

