Rome Panoramic Views (Zodiaco vs Gianicolo)

2015-07-09 16.59.49

It’s finally coming the moment I’ll be traveling again. But in the meanwhile, I’m enjoying my city like I’ve never done. And not because there are still things I’ve never seen or visited yet, but because for the first time in my life I’m seeing them all from a different perspective. From the saddle of my new city bike. It’s been already a month that I got it, and I have to say, I’m filling my soul with joy and marvel while riding along this wonderful city among such a beauty.

And the good news is that it’s quite impossible running out of tours to take. I already told you about my obelisks tour, and then last week I thought it was the right moment to go climb the only two mountains we have here in Rome. I mean, you probably know already Rome has the famous seven hills. But basically they’re all in the city center, so you surely have to climb’em just if you want to visit the city. You probably won’t even notice you’re climbing a hill. But as far as mountains go, we got only two.

The higher one is called Monte Mario, and it houses the observatory of Rome. For reasons unknown its terrace is called Zodiaco. It’s not even that high, but the view you get from it, is really worth it. The second one is called Gianicolo and maybe is a little more famous among tourists because it’s closer to the center and the view is really impressive.

Both mounts are on the edge of the center, so we got a pretty complete view of the city. Since we got also several famous terraces right in the middle of the city center, next time I’m gonna show you their different views.

It goes without saying the climb was hard in both cases, but the reward once I got at the top, extremely satisfying. I’ll leave you to the pictures I took and then you can judge by yourself which place got the better view, hoping one day you’ll be able to see them yourself. Just a hint, if you click on the picture it’ll open a larger size so you’ll be able to spot a lot of the landmarks.

Zodiaco

2015-07-09 16.35.59

2015-07-09 16.54.16

2015-07-09 16.53.09

2015-07-09 16.54.23

Gianicolo

2015-06-25 16.06.32

2015-06-25 16.07.13

2015-06-25 16.23.30

2015-06-25 16.13.45

John Reese

About Gianluca8675

I'm an Atypical Italian Traveler, born and raised in Rome. View all posts by Gianluca8675

25 responses to “Rome Panoramic Views (Zodiaco vs Gianicolo)

Leave a Reply

DiarioRandagio

L'unica regola del viaggio è: non tornare come sei partito. Torna diverso.

Wanderlust dipendente

Travel blogger

labloggeria

by Elenalucia

viviana vialetto

travel . learn . share

conlavaligiapronta

Live, travel, adventure, bless, and don't be sorry. -Jack Kerouak

Viaggiando con Bea

E' bello raccontarvi dei miei viaggi e dei miei esperimenti tra i fornelli

RomExperience Travel Blog

Blog di viaggi con partenza Roma e destinazione Mondo

Sotto il cielo delle Ande

Un viaggio in Sudamerica con un romanzo nello zaino

I'll B right back

Prima o poi torno...ma intanto vado!!

Guardando il cielo

La vita è troppo breve per sprecarla a realizzare i sogni degli altri. (Oscar Wilde)

Pochi spicci e una cartina

Due universitari e un "mondo" da imparare

Mi viaggio

Dobbiamo andare e non fermarci mai finché non arriviamo. Per andare dove amico? Non lo so, ma dobbiamo andare. - J. kerouac -

SpiritoLiberoViaggi

Viaggiare per "sopravvivere"

LG Studio - Foto di Viaggio e per passione.

Racconti fotografici di viaggio. Esperienze, impressioni, itinerari e consigli per sognare un po'.

cucublog

curiosità & cultura

Interviste dal Mondo

“Quando ero giovane, mi esercitavo sempre mezz’ora al giorno. A volte riuscivo a credere anche a sei cose impossibili prima di colazione” - Lewis Carroll

