Travels And Movies

SAMSUNG

Here’s a thing about myself you probably know already if you follow my blog. I like movies. I’m a kind of professional movie and TV series watcher. I mean I’m a machine. During the regular season, which is basically when I’m not abroad, which is the major part of my time having to attend a regular daytime job, which ins’t fun, I can watch on average 3/4 movies and decades of TV series episodes a week.

How does this fit in with travels?! I say it does. Let’s see.

First of all, I think it’s related because at the end of the day a traveler is basically a dreamer. And a movie sometimes can make you dream about things. It certainly makes me dream about places and feelings. Secondly, seeing a movie scene shot in a city you’ve been in, or recognizing panoramic views because you’re familiar with them, add to the normal pleasure of watching a movie, a kind of emotion you couldn’t feel if you hadn’t been in the place. In some way, you get into the movie.

I can’t really explain how it is like this sensation, but I enjoy more, for instance, seeing an episodes of “Person of Interest”, watching the characters strolling around Washington Square in New York, having been there and knowing the place.

On the other hand, sometimes it might not be particularly nice, since while I was watching “Bosch”, the Amazon series inspired by the Connelly books, I kind of wanted to cry seeing the amazing landscapes of Los Angeles on my 55 inch, feeling very nostalgic.

Last but not least, if you haven’t been in the place the movie has been shot, most of the time, specially if you’re a traveler like me, it makes you want to add a new place to visit to your wishlist.

For example, last May, I went to Hamburg. I already knew it was a beautiful city, but it wasn’t until I saw “A Most Wanted Man” that I thought I really needed to go there. That’s a spy movie entirely shot in Hamburg, and it shows some incredibly nice views of the city, along with a good story and the masterpiece of the movie, Rachel McAdams.

maxresdefault

Another place I added to my list because of a movie is India. It’s a very popular destination but it never inspired me that much. Then I saw the Wes Anderson movie “Darjeeling Limited” and I got struck by India’s colors and the atmosphere of that train trip the three brothers protagonists of the movie took. I actually added to my list also the sunglasses Adrian Brody wore, but I didn’t find’em yet.

tumblr_mcnga8MCc91rzhmt3o1_1280

I also know, for example, that Albuquerque, the Capital of the New Mexico, it’s become a popular destination among the fun of the TV series “Breaking Bad”. Last August I was so close but I didn’t get there. Shame on me I hadn’t started yet to see the series (I’m catching up right now).

196-breaking-bad-season-2-tv-show

Last June in Dublin, instead, I’ve been forced by my ex to take the famous “P.S. I Love You” tour. It took us to the places in the Wicklow mountains where some scenes were shot, ending up at Whelan’s, the Irish pub in Dublin where Gerard Butler made his performance, singing in front of a classic Irish Pub crowd. Tour aside, that pub is pretty cool.

20140502_113808

Not to mention what is probably the first movie ever, where the city in question is the real protagonist. “In Bruges”. I’m not sure if I hadn’t seen that movie, I would have gotten there three years ago. It would have been a shame missing that enchanting city.

8Aug_in-bruges-590x350

That’s why I think movies and travels are related. Problem is, it’s all a vicious circle. The more I watch movies, the more I want to travel, then again the more I enjoy seeing movies. But after all, that’s totally fine by me.

John Reese

About Gianluca8675

I'm an Atypical Italian Traveler, born and raised in Rome. View all posts by Gianluca8675

13 responses to “Travels And Movies

Leave a Reply

DiarioRandagio

L'unica regola del viaggio è: non tornare come sei partito. Torna diverso.

Wanderlust dipendente

Travel blogger

labloggeria

by Elenalucia

viviana vialetto

travel . learn . share

conlavaligiapronta

Live, travel, adventure, bless, and don't be sorry. -Jack Kerouak

Viaggiando con Bea

E' bello raccontarvi dei miei viaggi e dei miei esperimenti tra i fornelli

RomExperience Travel Blog

Blog di viaggi con partenza Roma e destinazione Mondo

Sotto il cielo delle Ande

Un viaggio in Sudamerica con un romanzo nello zaino

I'll B right back

Prima o poi torno...ma intanto vado!!

Guardando il cielo

La vita è troppo breve per sprecarla a realizzare i sogni degli altri. (Oscar Wilde)

Pochi spicci e una cartina

Due universitari e un "mondo" da imparare

Mi viaggio

Dobbiamo andare e non fermarci mai finché non arriviamo. Per andare dove amico? Non lo so, ma dobbiamo andare. - J. kerouac -

LG Studio - Foto di Viaggio e per passione.

Racconti fotografici di viaggio. Esperienze, impressioni, itinerari e consigli per sognare un po'.

cucublog

curiosità & cultura

Interviste dal Mondo

“Quando ero giovane, mi esercitavo sempre mezz’ora al giorno. A volte riuscivo a credere anche a sei cose impossibili prima di colazione” - Lewis Carroll

