My Best 5 Travel Movies

the-secret-life-of-walter-mitty-teaser-trailer-skateboarding

Movie addicted as I am, I see a lot of movies. Since I’m working on a post about the relationship between travels and movies, I’m not gonna digress here. These are simply my favourite five Travel Movies, in no particular order.

1

Into The Wild

I don’t really wanna get into the heated debate some of you might know of, discussed on the Internet about the story of Christopher McCandless. I just think, it’s a great movie.  Like every movie based on a real story, I always give 1 point more. This one got another 1 more because it’s set all along my favorite part of the US, and ends up in Alaska, which is one of the places I’d love to see at some point in my life. So, debate aside, if you haven’t seen it yet, I strongly recommend you to do it, if you like travels and that kind of freedom sensation they make you feel. The movie, other than show amazing views of that part of the US, is full of quotes taken from the real Christopher McCundless diary. I’m not ashamed to say I’ve been thinking about them very often lately.

2

Wild

The most recent of the list, another real story. I guess I like them more because they make me believe it is actually possible going beyond our limits. Be brave enough to try new experiences. Cheryl Strayed is an American writer, a very successful woman who happens to be just seven years older than me. That’s why her adventure feels so real and reachable to me. Ok maybe I also like the movie because of Reese Witherspoon. I mean, who doesn’t like a young blonde American girl?! It just feels that way though, because I’m not sure yet I could be able to do what she did. I didn’t know what the Pacific Crest Trail was before. Now I do, and I’d love to do it, but seriously…that’s kind of hard. That said, it’s a good movie.

3

The Secret Life Of Walter Mitty

Well, I don’t know if any of you have seen this movie, but if you haven’t, then just go see it immediately. As strange as it might seem, Ben Stiller has written and directed one of the best movie ever. Ok maybe that was a little pretentious, but no kidding, The Secret Life Of Walter Mitty is a great movie. The photography is exceptional, and the movie leaves you with a thirst for adventure and a craving for taking risks. Which is pretty much the intent why this movie has been shot. I have still in mind the images of those stunning landscapes, and a couple of places more I wanna go to. Ben Stiller is the leading actor, the world the supporting one, and Iceland the Guest Star.

4

Tracks

Another true story, another great woman. Robyn Davidson is an Australian writer who, in 1977, decided to cross Australia on foot, with four camels and her dog as her only companions. I’m not gonna be silly and say it makes me understand Australia not having been there, but this movie got me some clear insights, especially about the humanity of the Australian Aborigines. Her story became a famous article on the National Geographic Magazine in the 70s, and at the end, the movie shows the shots the journalist who followed her adventure, took at the end of that magic trip, once she finally reached the ocean. Real pictures of a real woman in a real adventure. Not just a fiction movie.

5

Hector And The Search For Happiness

Well, I honestly didn’t expect this one to be a good movie. I just saw it because I see pretty much anything. All right you got me here. It was my Rosamund Pike period so I was looking for movies with her. I saw the trailer and thought it could be a good one. I can say now it really is. Light, clean humorous are just some of the adjectives I find appropriate about this movie. Might be kind of trivial the matter of the search for happiness, but the best part are the places of the world Hector visits during the trip to find it. Plus, I got a couple of amazing glimpses of Shanghai, and now I’d like to go there some day.

I guess taste is subjective, but I found all these movies very inspiring, talking about travels. Their only flaw is that I haven’t been casted to be part of them. I’ve always known I would have been a great actor. Hollywood, do you hear me?!

John Reese

About Gianluca8675

I'm an Atypical Italian Traveler, born and raised in Rome. View all posts by Gianluca8675

21 responses to “My Best 5 Travel Movies

  • davidedelorenzi

    Hi there,

    Thanks for your suggestions!
    I’ve seen all those movies but Tracks; do you know if there’s an Italian version of this movie?
    Thanks,

    Davide

    P.S.: you shouldn’t miss “Darjeeling Express”

    Liked by 1 person

    • Gianluca8675

      Thank you Davide! Yes, there is the Italian version, it’s called tracks-attraverso il deserto. I actually didn’t miss Darjeeling Express! In fact I was even considering to put it in the list, but then I didn’t want the post to be too long. Besides, I talk about it in a post I’m working on. Another great movie 🙂

      Like

  • Dee Gilbert

    As far as travel inspirations, the scenery in Under the Tuscan Sun with Diane Lane and Letters to Juliet with Amanda Seyfried are simply stunning.

    Liked by 1 person

  • errrdaniels

    Seen only 1 of 4 of these – I’ve put the others on my Amazon to watch list 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  • LifestyleswithLia

    I enjoyed reading your post today but I must admit, I’ve never seen any of these movies! You convinced me I should…I do however remember they were filming Walter Mitty in various neighborhoods in NYC about 2 years ago..I remember seeing the signs blocking parking on streets…But I think it didn’t get a lot of publicity or something since it came to the theaters and left quickly?
    I should watch it!
    And the movie Wild looks incredible…Reese Witherspoon is a great actress..
    Thanks, my friend, for the movie reviews! and Hollywood would be lucky to have you!
    *Lia

    Liked by 1 person

    • Gianluca8675

      Thank you Lia!!! For the compliments on my post and for acknowledging my acting talent ah ah ;)) It must be fantastic to live in a city where every day you have the chance to meet somebody who’s shooting a movie! I remember during my first time in NY one day I just turned a corner in SoHo and found Lucy Liu that was shooting Elementary! Not bad! You’re right, I guess Walter Mitty didn’t have too much publicity. I honestly don’t know why, but I really think it’s a great movie…if by chance you’re going to see it, let me know what you think about it! 🙂 Anyway if you like movies, they’re all pretty good 🙂

      Like

  • Monika

    Hey Gianluca (or do you prefer being called John?),

    Thank you for following my blog! I found your blog a couple of days ago and really enjoy reading through your posts. Especially the exploding head post stayed in my mind – it’s kinda relieving to know that those things also happen to other people and I had to smile because of your writing style even though it was an ugly situation, but humorous anyway (sorry for that :P)

    And seeing that you reply every comment with so much warmth makes you even more likeable!

    Have fun in Germany and Denmark 🙂 I’m looking forward to reading your posts! And thanks for those movie tips, I’ll check them out!

    Monika

    Liked by 1 person

    • Gianluca8675

      Hey Monica! Thank you so much for all these compliments, I’m truly flattered!!! You can call me whatever you want, pick your favourite! 😉 As for that post, I don’t take offense if you got a laugh out that situation, in fact I meant to be humorous … Even if it really was a bad moment! I love to reply to anyone who comments my posts. Knowing that people enjoy something I write is priceless, so once again, thank you for reading my blog!!! I’ll try to have fun during my next trip, then surely I’m gonna write something about it….:)

      Like

      • Monika

        Hey Gianluca 🙂
        haha you’re welcome, I’m just being honest 🙂 I prefer Gianluca, sounds cooler 😛
        it’s good that you can see even bad experiences positively 🙂
        I guess we reader realize how much fun you have blogging so it’s also fun to read it!
        I’ll watch one of your recommendations here this weekend! 🙂
        I’m looking forward! I hope the Germans will be nice to you haha

        Liked by 1 person

      • Gianluca8675

        Thanks Monika, you’re so nice!!! 🙂 and I really hope you’re going to like the movie 😉 Have fun and a nice weekend!

        Liked by 1 person

  • alexsaoirse

    I have to admit the only one I’ve seen is Ben Stiller’s one, and it’s great! I also wanted to watch Into the wild since it came out in the cinemas.. but I don’t know how come, I haven’t seen it yet. The other ones sounds good ones too! Anyway, your posts are really pleasant to read, even if they’re in English. And interesting too! Have a good day, cheers

    Liked by 1 person

    • Gianluca8675

      Well, thank you so much for all those compliments!!! It’s really gratifying knowing that someone finds my blog interesting! 🙂 It was the same for me regarding Into the wild… Everyone kept telling me it was a great movie but I didn’t see it until 5/6 months ago. I can say it is now. Have a nice day you too! Cheers!!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

DiarioRandagio

L'unica regola del viaggio è: non tornare come sei partito. Torna diverso.

Wanderlust dipendente

Travel blogger

labloggeria

by Elenalucia

viviana vialetto

travel . learn . share

conlavaligiapronta

Live, travel, adventure, bless, and don't be sorry. -Jack Kerouak

Viaggiando con Bea

E' bello raccontarvi dei miei viaggi e dei miei esperimenti tra i fornelli

RomExperience Travel Blog

Blog di viaggi con partenza Roma e destinazione Mondo

Sotto il cielo delle Ande

Un viaggio in Sudamerica con un romanzo nello zaino

I'll B right back

Prima o poi torno...ma intanto vado!!

Guardando il cielo

La vita è troppo breve per sprecarla a realizzare i sogni degli altri. (Oscar Wilde)

Pochi spicci e una cartina

Due universitari e un "mondo" da imparare

Mi viaggio

Dobbiamo andare e non fermarci mai finché non arriviamo. Per andare dove amico? Non lo so, ma dobbiamo andare. - J. kerouac -

SpiritoLiberoViaggi

Viaggiare per "sopravvivere"

LG Studio - Foto di Viaggio e per passione.

Racconti fotografici di viaggio. Esperienze, impressioni, itinerari e consigli per sognare un po'.

cucublog

curiosità & cultura

Interviste dal Mondo

“Quando ero giovane, mi esercitavo sempre mezz’ora al giorno. A volte riuscivo a credere anche a sei cose impossibili prima di colazione” - Lewis Carroll

