Bryant Park (My Favourite Place In NYC)

IMG_5229

Have you ever been in NYC? Some of you maybe live there (lucky bastards!), some of you don’t. Then I want to tell you go. And once you’ll get there, you make sure to see Bryant Park, because I’m telling you, it’s by far my favourite place in New York.

Some might argue it isn’t the best place in the City. It’s ok, I’ll give you that. But I don’t care. It’s something about feelings, and Bryant Park makes me feel good. It isn’t a big park though. I know of people who’s been in the city and haven’t even seen it. Shame on them! Even worse, maybe they passed close by and didn’t pay attention. It’s not even far from the most beaten paths. It’s actually in the very center of Midtown Manhattan.

And’ it could have been named as a square instead of a park, because that’s how big it is. Bryant Park is literally a green square, an oasis surrounded by skyscrapers, right in the middle of Manhattan, just behind the New York Public Library that faces the Fifth Avenue. So, if it happens you’re in front of the Library, you’d better head behind it. There you’ll find this gem.

20130826_155654

What I mostly like about Bryant Park is that it’s perfectly located and integrated within the city. And that’s why it’s always full of people hanging out, sitting at the benches and tables, everyone absorbed in his own businesses. Tourists taking pictures, sipping coffees and teas, New Yorkers eating sandwiches during their lunch breaks, or simply having relax reading their favourite books, writing on their laptops or playing ping pong.

IMG_5226

If you find the right angle, you can also have a nice glimpse of the Empire State Building, among the other skyscrapers. One of my favourite is located just beside the Park, The Bank Of America Building.

20130826_153457

That’s what I liked the most when I was in the City. I spent a lot of time seated in Bryan Park, mostly, I’ll admit, eating sushi from Chelsea Market, cupcakes from whenever I could find them, and drinking boiling american coffee. I’m not gonna lie here, I had even one or two smokes. I can’t resist the pleasure of smoking after a good coffee.

So that’s the picture. At least the one I got during the summer. I find it hard to believe that people could hang out in the park during the winter cold. I promise one thing though. I will find out and let you know, since I’m going back this December. What can I say. I miss New York.

John Reese

About Gianluca8675

I'm an Atypical Italian Traveler, born and raised in Rome. View all posts by Gianluca8675

27 responses to “Bryant Park (My Favourite Place In NYC)

Leave a Reply

DiarioRandagio

L'unica regola del viaggio è: non tornare come sei partito. Torna diverso.

Wanderlust dipendente

Travel blogger

labloggeria

by Elenalucia

viviana vialetto

travel . learn . share

conlavaligiapronta

Live, travel, adventure, bless, and don't be sorry. -Jack Kerouak

Viaggiando con Bea

E' bello raccontarvi dei miei viaggi e dei miei esperimenti tra i fornelli

RomExperience Travel Blog

Blog di viaggi con partenza Roma e destinazione Mondo

Sotto il cielo delle Ande

Un viaggio in Sudamerica con un romanzo nello zaino

I'll B right back

Prima o poi torno...ma intanto vado!!

Guardando il cielo

La vita è troppo breve per sprecarla a realizzare i sogni degli altri. (Oscar Wilde)

Pochi spicci e una cartina

Due universitari e un "mondo" da imparare

Mi viaggio

Dobbiamo andare e non fermarci mai finché non arriviamo. Per andare dove amico? Non lo so, ma dobbiamo andare. - J. kerouac -

LG Studio - Foto di Viaggio e per passione.

Racconti fotografici di viaggio. Esperienze, impressioni, itinerari e consigli per sognare un po'.

cucublog

curiosità & cultura

Interviste dal Mondo

“Quando ero giovane, mi esercitavo sempre mezz’ora al giorno. A volte riuscivo a credere anche a sei cose impossibili prima di colazione” - Lewis Carroll

