Best Method To Forget A Woman. Plan A Trip. (It might not work but at least you get to travel)

????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

I said it before, this isn’t a great time for me. I broke up with my girlfriend two months ago…I mean we broke up…well, things are still uncertain, I’m not sure how exactly it’s gone so let’s just say we’re not together anymore and I feel heartbroken. I mean literally. Like my chest hurts. I love her but I can’t help but say she’s a bitch. Hell, you don’t even want to reply to my messages, not a word from you in two months?! Yeah you told me that, you have to move on. So do I. Hence, being a travel addicted I thought it could be the right moment to plan a new trip. And I did it. I’m leaving. Ok, it’s not that I’m leaving tomorrow, but it’s all set. No matter I’m going alone and I’m not used to it anymore, I can get used to it again. Because see, I’ve traveled a lot alone and I have to tell you, it’s one of the most instructive and beautiful experiences you can have. I know what you’re wondering right now. Isn’it nicer to travel with a girlfriend? Share the experiences with your better half? Hell yeah, thanks for reminding me that. But there are a series of reasons to find convenient going abroad alone, wich I’m going to explain.

1 First of all, you can plan your travel whenever you want, choose the dates that fit your schedule instead of avoid that particular week because her parents are coming to visit and not being at home when they show up might seem rude.

2 You can go wherever you want. You don’t have to ask anybody “how about Dublin?”. You just go to Dublin.

3 You can book and sleep wherever you prefer to. Even under a bridge if you feel like it. Nobody is going to tell you “these sheets are dirty, where is the toilet paper? This hotel sucks!” (Honestly my ex wasn’t exactly like that, but you got the point).

4 You don’t have strict restrictions about when and what to eat your breakfasts, lunches and dinners. (Someone could even argue about “how” to eat something). You’re hungry? You just eat.

5 You can meet a lot of people who travel alone like you, make new friends and share experiences, hence have the chance to join them for a little walk around the city, a tour a dinner or a beer. Or much better, let them join you.

6 You are forced to interact with people, even with people you usually don’t interact with. You do that because you feel you need to, otherwise you might go crazy, specially if it’s a long travel.

7 You have the possibility to push to its limits your new smartphone, trying all its features, specially the camera ones, like self-timer and voice controls. You’re going to find spots to put your phone on to take a picture of you, that were unthinkable before. You don’t feel like taking selfies like a dumbass in front of a nice monument? You can always ask some tourist to take the picture. Pictures are very important, you know that.

There’s also the possibility to go with a friend if you’re really scared of doing alone this kind of spiritual travel. That is up to you. Me, I’d rather go alone for all the reasons I just told you. Plus I forgot to tell you this little thing about myself. I don’t have any friends. It’s not that I’m a freak or something, it’s just that I’m not that good at socializing and making friends. I prefer have a girlfriend to share experiences with, so when I don’t, that leaves me pretty much a short number of other options. Like zero. I go alone.

Be aware that I’m not saying traveling alone it’s always easy because I can tell you already. It’s not. I still remember my first time. Wondering what the hell I was doing in that shitty hostel in Valencia. You’ll be alone a lot of time, then you’d better have a good relationship at least with yourself. But that is exactly the point. The reason why after a travel like this, you’ll come back fortified, stronger, richer in the soul. Plus, you’ll have some new friends, a lot of new pictures to renew your several accounts (the main reason why people travel nowadays) and a good experience that will make you feel a better man, a grown man. And maybe when you’ll be back you will have forgotten your ex. I gotta tell you though, I still have to test the theory. I’m sure it’ll be better anyway. I’ll let you know.

John Reese

About Gianluca8675

I'm an Atypical Italian Traveler, born and raised in Rome. View all posts by Gianluca8675

6 responses to “Best Method To Forget A Woman. Plan A Trip. (It might not work but at least you get to travel)

  • ycalanis

    Been there. I can agree with you by saying there’s absolutely no better way to forget about someone. I was dumped during my trip to Asia with my boyfriend ( soon to be husband) this year, I continued the second half of my trip by myself and it kinda stopped hurting after only a few days! Travel is like anesthesia to the heart…

    Liked by 1 person

    • gianluca8675

      Sorry for your troubles! But your experience kind of confirm my theory! Glad to hear it worked for you, I’m looking forward to my next trip, I really wanna feel alive again! I have to wait for this summer though…

      Liked by 1 person

  • Christina

    I agree with you that travelling alone is great, unless you have someone in similar mind with you that allows things to happen on a journey! All my best wishes to you!

    Liked by 1 person

  • sandydunne

    Solo travel rocks! You can be anyone you want to be. Enjoy it while you can and use the opportunity to try on a few new hats, a few new ‘yous’. Let the kindness of strangers and the perspective of distance do their healing. In the meantime, go make some man-friends to play with occasionally, just to keep you balanced. (Because it doesn’t matter where you go, there you are…)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

DiarioRandagio

L'unica regola del viaggio è: non tornare come sei partito. Torna diverso.

Wanderlust dipendente

Travel blogger

labloggeria

by Elenalucia

viviana vialetto

travel . learn . share

conlavaligiapronta

Live, travel, adventure, bless, and don't be sorry. -Jack Kerouak

Viaggiando con Bea

E' bello raccontarvi dei miei viaggi e dei miei esperimenti tra i fornelli

RomExperience Travel Blog

Blog di viaggi con partenza Roma e destinazione Mondo

Sotto il cielo delle Ande

Un viaggio in Sudamerica con un romanzo nello zaino

I'll B right back

Prima o poi torno...ma intanto vado!!

Guardando il cielo

La vita è troppo breve per sprecarla a realizzare i sogni degli altri. (Oscar Wilde)

Pochi spicci e una cartina

Due universitari e un "mondo" da imparare

Mi viaggio

Dobbiamo andare e non fermarci mai finché non arriviamo. Per andare dove amico? Non lo so, ma dobbiamo andare. - J. kerouac -

SpiritoLiberoViaggi

Viaggiare per "sopravvivere"

LG Studio - Foto di Viaggio e per passione.

Racconti fotografici di viaggio. Esperienze, impressioni, itinerari e consigli per sognare un po'.

cucublog

curiosità & cultura

Interviste dal Mondo

“Quando ero giovane, mi esercitavo sempre mezz’ora al giorno. A volte riuscivo a credere anche a sei cose impossibili prima di colazione” - Lewis Carroll

